Commonwealth fisheries are managed by the Australian Fisheries Management Authority through the provision of services to joint Authorities of the Commonwealth and state governments.

Commonwealth fishers are waters outside of the three nautical mile offshore limit that designates State waters.

A number of operators based in Western Australia are licenced to operate in Commonwealth waters. The most readily identifiable being those that fish for Patagonian toothfish in the Heard Island and McDonald Islands Fishery and the Macquarie Island Toothfish Fishery, as well as those which operate in the North West Slope Trawl Fishery, the Western Deepwater Trawl Fishery and the Western Tuna and Billfish Fishery.

The Small Pelagic Fishery also runs in waters off the South Coast of Western Australia – as well as encompassing Commonwealth waters across the Great Australian Bight and around to the east coast of the nation.

For more information about Commonwealth fisheries please visit AFMA.